The Lizard Log

The Langkilde Lab in Action

All Good Things Must Come To An End

Leave a comment

(Originally posted on our 2012 Field Blog —  by Jill Newman)

My co-op with the Langkilde Lab is coming to an end and I’m getting ready to go back to Massachusetts to start my senior year at Northeastern University (NU).

This co-op has been a great experience because it truly embodies NU’s experiential learning core requirement. NU’s goal for the program is to have students gain invaluable outside-of-the-classroom experiences that they can write on their resumes. As a result, participating in co-ops helps give students the confidence they need to succeed in their field of study after their undergraduate careers. My experience with the Langkilde Lab definitely exceeded these standards.

I had the opportunity to travel, submit publications (and more on the way!), conduct an independent research project (sorry I didn’t talk about it more), learn about the different herpetofauna in Alabama, and network with many different people.

I’m very grateful to Dr. Langkilde and her graduate students for giving me the opportunity to work in their lab and to help with their projects (both in Alabama and back at Penn State). Having the co-op program as part of my education is really important to me and I consider myself very lucky to have had this opportunity.

Here’s a look back at just SOME of my favorite moments from my six months with the students:

  • Taking pictures of all of Lindsey’s “misbehaving” wood frogs in PA
  • Carrying the giant hula hula hoop (aka acoustic arenas) around my body back to Jenny’s car
  • Meeting “The Blob” with Brad, and then running away from it because of the smell
  • Attending lab meetings with the undergrads in the lab and working with a couple of them
  • Hanging out at Kelly’s apartment the night before the long drive down to Alabama
  • Driving down to Alabama with Travis and taking pictures of the giant cow butt thing in front of us
  • Renee helping me start this blog 🙂
  • Having Gail’s female presence around the Pond House in general (haha)
  • Sean singing – field songs and Pond House jams
  • Chris taking me out for bbq on my birthday and then going to see the Avenger’s movie
  • Listening to George make fun of American-made everything

Thank you to everyone I worked with and to everyone who helped me along the way! You guys are the best 🙂

Saw a sign that said "co-op" on it and couldn't resist! Most schools call the program that I am doing an "internship," but Northeastern University is one of the few that calls it a "co-op." The term is used very infrequently but I thought it was really funny when I first saw it.

Saw a sign that said “co-op” on it and couldn’t resist! Most schools call the program that I am doing an “internship,” but Northeastern University is one of the few that calls it a “co-op.” The term is used very infrequently but I thought it was really funny when I first saw it.

-Jill

Leave a Reply

