The Lizard Log

The Langkilde Lab in Action

Lizard in PA

Leave a comment

So, here’s a song about being a lizard in the cold, cold, northeast US.

And for those who may not notice, it is specifically

about a male Sceloporus undulatus in Pennsylvania.

 

 

Lizard in PA  (click here if the link above is not functional)

It’s cold outside

and I can’t move my muscles

cause my physiology won’t bring the heat,

but I’ll be fine.

 

My parietal eye will tell my future

by and by

and by the sun

I will move on,

when the winter’s gone.

 

I’m a lizard in PA

and I’m coming out today

to heat my bones

and eat a bug.

 

Heat my bones

Heat my bones

 

I’m a lizard in PA

and I’m coming out today

to heat my bones

and eat a bug.

 

I hope I find my mates

and set my territory straight

before I see a flash of blue

that comes to call,

I’ll fight um all.

 

Their push ups

don’t scare me

I’m sure they’re all one hemipene

shy of a clutch,

I’d bet my lunch.

 

Heat my bones

Heat my bones

 

I’m a lizard in PA

and I’m coming out today

to heat my bones

and eat a bug.

 

Heat my bones

Heat my bones

.Heat

……….my

……………….bones

and eat bug.

 

(c) 2014

Music, lyrics, vocals, and harmonica by Travis R. Robbins

Music, vocals, and guitar by Kristan Robbins

Produced at Gwendolyn’s Sleeping Studio (TM)

 

Leave a Reply

